BE-ST Fest '23

Breaking Barriers

The UK’s biggest festival for a zero-carbon built environment played host to transformative discussion and knowledge exchange on how we can break through barriers to accelerate our journey to zero carbon.

The festival ran from 4 September to 28 November and included 42 events, attended by 2000+ from across the sector in Scotland, UK and internationally. From Benbecula to Wicklow to Bristol, it was a rich programme encompassing all aspects of a zero-carbon built environment.

On 1 November we kicked off our two-day main event with the BE-ST Fest Summit, welcoming 500+ attendees, followed by an inaugural Accelerate to Zero Awards evening with over 180 guests.

On 2 November we held our first International Retrofit Conference with 300+ attendees.

44+ exhibitors, plus afternoon workshops and factory tours, captured the attention of the audience as the day continued to see connections being made, knowledge exchanged and solutions being explored.

BE-ST Fest '23 Summit

BE-ST Fest '23 Summit was a resounding success, from thought-provoking keynote speakers to workshops and exhibits.

BEST FEST Emma Morton
BEST FEST Rufus Grantham

The International Retrofit Conference

BE-ST and the National Retrofit Hub held the first ever conference dedicated to tackling retrofit in the UK at scale.

BEST FEST DAY 2 Energiesprong
BEST FEST DAY 2 Passivhaus

Accelerate to Zero Awards

Celebrating those who are making the biggest contribution to decarbonising the built environment.

Hosted by stand-up comedian and former electrician Susie McCabe, the Awards took place after the BE-ST Fest Summit and ahead of the International Retrofit Conference which takes place today.  

The winners of the Awards were:  

  • Gamechanger Award: Loco Home Retrofit CIC  
  • Diversity and Inclusion Award: Women in Property  
  • BE Changemaker Award: Chloë Yuill  
  • Collaborative Partnership Award: Retrofit Balsall Heath 
  • Green Skills Award: Timber TED  
  • Green Technology Award: Integrated Environmental Solutions   
  • Circular Economy Award: Kenoteq  
  • Just Transition Award: Comann Eachdraidh Eirisgeidh   
  • Retrofit Award sponsored by AtkinsRéalis: John Gilbert Architects 
  • A to Z Hero Award: Agile City  
  • BE-ST Beacon Award: Emily Carr and Robert Hairstans